Be Still.

beautiful he said

as he held me down

nails shoved into my wrists

like the kindness of his words

would make it any less

terrifying

like his hard hands would

somehow soften with the tone

of his voice

they did not

and i felt his hot breath scald my neck

even after he stopped

he had always been strong

my mother said

as if for that reason i should

have expected it

accepted it

i still feel callous palms on my skin

now and again

beneath my chin gripping my

narrow jaw with brilliant force

commanding me to be still

i sang myself home that night

as the pavement disappeared

in front of me.

Leave a Reply

