“He Just Needs Time.”

I think maybe this is good

I’d rather politely step off my throne

before words like ‘impeachment’

start streaming from ugly mouths

I have loved and lost like every other human being

but I think my mistake truly was

placing my efforts in all the wrong places

 

 

I missed your brother’s visits

and all your watercolors in school

but I loved every part of you

and thought of you everyday

 

 

I feel this gross aching in my chest as I write about you

but I know this pain is not something I can fix

I am at your mercy

I can safely say I have spent my whole life

refusing to be in this position

with anyone

but you stole me right off the shelf

so i’ll sit here for you

I couldn’t let go even if I wanted to

Leave a Reply

