Drive

Home is a very flexible word
I place in my best friend’s heart, a house
He keeps it warm and leaves blankets for me when I am cold
Home is my father’s scruffy beard and his pot belly and his gigantic bear hugs
Home is my little brother’s laugh
Infrequent but lovely, a sound I would do anything for
Home is the space between my kitten and me on a rainy night
Snuggling for warmth
Home is my old house that breathes history and loved ones and sleepovers and life.
Home is a very flexible thing
Home is not a singular place for me
Home is where I can leave my heart, a dear part of me
And knowing when I return, it is completely intact.

Leave a Reply

