Mel

I.
How can something so cruel still look as beautiful as her?
she makes loveless look so soft
she made sanctuary feel like madness.

II.
Sweet honey & green tea
that was the color of my mother’s eyes
they shone like amulets
worthy only of Cleopatra herself
I thought she was worthy
Of her melanin-kissed skin
and her voice, all songbirds and lullabies
All curly tresses and coffee stained books

III.
My eyes were clothed with admiration
For a woman who raised me like a machine.

Leave a Reply

