Recovery

I won’t let you pick me up from the couch
when i’ve fallen asleep watching Friends reruns
but in the middle of the night
i’ll be sure to bring myself home to you
ill climb under our sheets, wrap my arms around your middle
and make sure not to wake the dog.

There are little strings attached between our hearts
and when you hold on too hard
I worry you’re going to rip these ties right out of me
Please be patient
I am learning to be soft again.

I have always been fierce in my love, but please understand
this time I have to let myself come gently
there are wounds the size of mountains on a heart not half the size

There is a loss of hearing on my left side
From too many arguments ending in black and white
When you move your palm to caress my cheek, sweet and slow
forgive me if I mistake it for the back of your hand
I am learning to be soft again.

When I think of you, I see gardens full of flowers
each one spells a different future between us
I want to see what we can bloom

Let me heal by your side
Let me come quietly
I am learning to be soft again.

Leave a Reply

